Customer Reviews   

Please check out our Angies List reviews at angieslist.com You can join for free to view the reviews


  • Tera H.
  • Shawnee, Ok

12/1/2014

Al deserves FIVE STARS in my book!  In November 2014, Al completed installation of my brand new cabinets and countertops.  I found Al by random on the internet which can be scary, but during my first appointment with him at his showroom he put me completely at ease and I knew that he was the perfect man for the job.  

The total cost was not “cheap”, but I felt that the cost was perfectly reasonable for the quality workmanship and professional assistance that Al provided every step of the way.  He seriously knows his stuff and aims to turn out a perfect product – he wanted to make sure that I was completely satisfied throughout the entire process and I definitely was.  Not only did Al understand exactly the “look” I was going for, he made welcome suggestions which made the project even nicer than I had ever imagined.  

 If you want cheap generic cabinets with minimal service, then go to Lowe’s or Home Depot.  But for just a little more investment, Al can professionally design a top-quality kitchen as unique as you want it to be!  Plus, Al does it ALL – building, staining and install – even countertops and knobs!  Why waste time anywhere else?  I am so in love with my new kitchen!!!

Gay F.,  Edmond, OK 

   April 01, 2012

We visited the Carpenter Shop (based on our review of them in Angie’s List) to inquire about a built-in cabinet for our master bedroom.The owner met us and discussed the various options.  He sketched the project with our input and provided a detailed estimate when we had agreed upon the price. About a week later, we visited to see the half finished project to ensure that we liked what was being done. The work was very professional.  We approved the project and he then completed it, delivered and installed it. 

 Alfred T.  Oklahoma City, OK

August 03, 2012

Constructed and installed a  Solid Surface kitchen countertop.  The job was performed as described when promised.  Overall excellent professional workmanship. Over all pride in work was displayed throughout entire job.
About two years after installation, I spilled super glue onto the bar top.  I contacted the owner of The Carpenter Shop and he said he could remove the super glue.  He removed the super glue by sanding the entire bar top and polished it back to new condition.  He refused any payment and said “the work was just part of his service”.
I plan on using The Cabinet Shop to replace a bathroom vanity top and sink.

Brad C., OKLAHOMA CITY, OK 73118

 March 01, 2015

Al at The Carpenter Shop designed and crafted a custom vanity for our bathroom remodel.   Al did a great job.  He exhibited excellent professionalism with punctuality, flexibility, and quality work.  He was patient with our questions and took special care to listen to our ideas and implement them into his work.  The vanity looks great and is well made.  We felt we got excellent quality at a great price.  Will definitely be calling The Carpenter Shop next time we have  a project.  

 

Judith S., Oklahoma City, OK

 September 15, 2014: 

Installed new laminate counter top with attached sink. Al did a great job explaining the pluses and minuses of options for counter tops. I appreciate his knowledge and expertise. He was right on with everything he promised.  
   
Harolyn L.,  edmond, OK
October 12, 2011
He replaced and raised my existing countertops in my utility room so that the new undercounter washer and dryer could fit in to the space where the old undercounter washer and dryer had been.  He had done an island extension for us when we were remodeling the kitchen and his work is excellent. I would highly recommend him.
Renee B.,  Midwest City, OK
December 01, 2007
Al and his wife were great to work with.  We used them before we had signed up with Angies List, so we talked to dozens of companies.  Al was considerably less expensive than the others we spoke with AND he did a superb job.  When we changed out our stove in 2007, they changed out approximately $350.  Then after a dishwasher fire (2008), he changed out the countertop on the larger cabinet & installed a composite sink for around $1300 and recommended a tiler to tile the backsplash. 
Al did a GREAT job.  Even now, we frequently comment on how much nicer our kitchen looks and how much easier it is to keep it up.  I have recommended The Carpenter Shop to anyone that mentions having cabinet or countertop work done.


Kimball H. , Noble, OK
February 01, 2014
I found Al and his Carpenter Shop through an Internet search for cabinet makers in Oklahoma City. His website was very informative. I was particularly intrigued by his previous experience as a furniture maker, thinking it might lend to the quality of his work. I called and arranged for my husband and I to visit his shop. We spent an hour or so meeting with Al while he showed us the difference between his cabinets, materials and designs from most other makers. I liked that his designs were very space efficient, and that his materials were more than just pressed particle board. He had some very nice samples of his work in his showroom.
We gave Al a try with our master bath cabinets. He came out to our home to take measurements and we talked about some of the things we wanted to have in our design. We asked him to match the finish and style of our bedroom furniture, which he did. Within a day or so he sent us his plan. With minimal changes he set to work. I think it was only a couple of weeks later when he was ready to install. He said he could handle the tear-out of our old cabinets but encouraged us to go ahead with our plans to use our floor guy for that part. In the end, we were quite pleased with the finished product. I like the deep drawers and their smooth rolling action. I like the adjustable feature of the shelves. My husband particularly likes the pull out component that holds all his medications. When I asked Al for an additional shelf once I started putting all my stuff back in the cabinets, he had no problem accommodating my request..

Some months later we were ready to start on the kitchen remodel. Al measured our kitchen when he was out to install the bathroom cabinets so we headed up to his shop to discuss our design plans. I’d gathered several pictures of things I wanted in my kitchen and showed them to Al. He incorporated everything I wanted or enhanced my ideas. I’d mentioned I really wanted to have a big, deep farm sink with the apron on front but they were pretty expensive. Al said he could mimic the style by adding an apron made of the solid surface we chose for the countertops. I am very happy with how that turned out. I also requested my cabinets go to the ceiling but be lower by about 4 inches because I am quite short. I really like that I can see in and reach the shelves in my cabinets. The adjustability also makes it easy for me to have more shelves within my reach. I asked Al to increase the depth of the cabinet over the refrigerator which allowed me to store all my fancy dishes that I use occasionally. He did the same with the laundry cabinets, increasing the depth so they came out over my front loading appliances which enables me, a short person to reach into the cabinet. I can store my laundry basket in the cupboard and it is out from under my feet.
We started the kitchen remodel in mid October beginning with some reconstruction of a pantry, a tear-out of a fireplace and half wall at the stairway, and new floor tile. In the meantime Al was working on the cabinets. He promised they’d be in by Christmas and although I didn’t expect him to, Al showed up on Christmas Eve and installed the cabinets.
We waited until the following week to have the countertop installed and then he set to work on the laundry cabinets. Once they were all in we lined him up to build the stairway rail which separates the kitchen from the stairs to the basement. I showed Al the picture of what I wanted and he did a terrific job of replicating it. He took extra measures to stabilize it and keep it solidly in place. I really love the look of it.

Now a year later I am still very happy with my kitchen. Hardly a day goes by that I don’t remark to my husband that I love my kitchen. Al and his work have a lot to do with my satisfaction. I can easily recommend him and wouldn’t hesitate to use him again.

.